The Bible

The 66 Books of the Bible

The Bible is a collection of 66 books written by different authors.  Together the 66 books form the story of redemptive history that culminates in Jesus Christ.  The Bible tells one essential story of the creation, the fall, the election of Israel, the promise of a coming Savior, the birth of Jesus, his supernatural ministry, his redeeming death, his victorious resurrection, his establishing of God’s kingdom, and his glorious return.


Old Testament

  1. Books of Moses
  2. Historical Books
  3. Wisdom Books
  4. Books of the Prophets

 New Testament

5. Gospels

6. History of Church Acts

7. Epistles

8. Revelation

Old Testament

The 39 books of the Old Testament trace the origins of the Israelites. Eventually the people on earth abandon God so he brings a  flood, which wipes out all people except Noah and his family. Eventually, Noah’s descendants also abandon and neglect God.

Instead of destroying the world this time, God chooses Abraham and his descendants to become his chosen people on earth. God made an agreement (a covenant) with Abraham that if he followed God’s instructions and continued to have faith in him, Abraham’s descendants would one day become a great nation  and inherit the land of Cannan (The Promised Land).

The story continues with the 400 years of exile in Egypt by the Israelites. God then sends Moses to free the people from Egypt and bring them to the promised land.

Throughout the Old Testament, we see the people falling back into sin, but after judgment and punishment, God continues to forgive his people.

1. Books of Moses

The Bible is a journey that begins with God’s creation of the world. Moses, under the guidance of the Holy Spirit, wrote the first five books of the Bible, –Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy.

2. Historical Books

The Historical Books tell the story of the rise and fall of Israel, covering a large swath of history. These books tell of ancient Israel’s formation, rise to prominence, collapse into moral and physical defeat, and restoration.

3.Wisdom Books

Referred to as “wisdom literature,” these books deal precisely with our human struggles and real-life experiences.

4.Books of the Prophets

The prophets appeared during the days of the fall of the Hebrew nation. The main period of prophecy was during the later years of the divided kingdoms of Judah and Israel, throughout the time of exile, and into the years of Israel’s return from exile.

God warned Israel and Judah over and over again through the prophets. The people forsook God, worshipped idols, did injustice, and loved evil. But God was kind enough to forewarn them of coming judgments because of sin.

The message of the prophets was basically, “judgment is coming, but blessings will follow for those who heed the warning to repent”.

New Testament

The New Testament is made up of 27 books, covering a time span of only 60 to 70 years. These books tell the stories of Jesus’ life and the establishment of the Christian church. The New Testament deals with Jesus Christ’s birth, life, death, and resurrection, the beginning of the Christian church, and instruction about how to live as a follower of Jesus Christ.

The New Testament is the fulfillment and culmination of the Old Testament. The New Testament tells the story of Christ’s coming to earth as a man, his life and ministry, his mission, message, and miracles, his death, burial, and resurrection, and the promise of his return.

5. Gospels

The four Gospels recount the story of Jesus Christ, each book giving us a unique perspective on his life.

6. Acts

The book of Acts, written by Luke, provides a detailed, eyewitness account of the birth and growth of the early church and the spread of the gospel immediately after the resurrection  of Jesus Christ.

Acts, the next book in the New Testament, tells about how the Christian message was spread on earth starting with the apostles. This laid the foundation for the Christian Church.

7. Epistles

The Epistles are letters written to the churches and individual believers in the earliest days of Christianity. Paul wrote the first 13 of these letters, each addressing a specific situation or problem.

8. Revelation

John penned this book while living in exile on the island of Patmos, around A.D. 90-95. At the time, the early Christian church in Asia faced an intense period of persecution.

The book of Revelation is believed to be a culmination of end times prophecies.  The  message of salvation in Jesus Christ, the promise of blessing for his followers, and God’s ultimate victory and supreme power are the prevailing themes of the book.


“All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and
training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly
equipped for every good work.” 2 Timothy 3:16-17

A long time ago, God motivated some 40 men over a span of about 15 centuries to write the Bible. God guided them with what to say. The Bible validates its divine authorship through fulfilled prophecies.

The Bible is the story of God’s plan of redemption and salvation for all humans. The Bible relates how humanity and the creation itself came into being, fell into destruction, and was redeemed by Jesus.

 In studying the Bible, determining the proper interpretation is a worthy goal, but determining the proper application is our essential task.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s